Adam Smith

Sitting and watching the current world in which I live, I find it interesting that our society and government seem to think that the world revolves around it.  Not that we are beholden to overarching set of laws, but that they ignore those laws and do their own thing.

I found myself reverting back to ideas of Adam Smith in his The Theory of Moral Sentiments and An Inquiry into the Nature and Causes of the Wealth of Nations.  It has been at least 7 years since the last time I read either and I need to check them again, but I cannot help but wonder how we floated so far adrift without anyone knowing.  Then again, we live in a world where relativism seems to rule and I should not be surprised.  Just ignore it and gravity will cease to exist.

Unfortunately, I do not have a better picture than these two we took in 2008.  But at least we stood outside the gate of Panmure Close in Edinburgh, Scotland.  It was at this site Adam Smith had lived for over a decade and died.  I seem to recall that his books were published before living here though.

DSCN3415

DSCN3416

Leave a Reply

