Missionary Farewell Open House

Back in the day when I got to go into the mission-field, we still had missionary farewells.  I am glad they have done away with them and now they are just “opportunities to speak before leaving for the mission.”  Although they are more formal affairs than I think the church would still want them to be.  Many still have open houses, and we were no exception.  My Grandmother was kind enough to open up her home and invite in the community for all the well-wishing that one could gush.

This is the only picture I have from the entire day.  There are probably more out there.  My camera is somewhere in an evidence box somewhere and has not been returned.  It is likely the film was developed.  Maybe some day I will get to see it.  Maybe there are others out there that I will yet see someday.

The day turned out to be bittersweet.  The best of friends, the worst of nightmares.  But at least I was surrounded by good friends and family.

Chad Kunzler, Elena McBride, Patrick Jolley, Tara Nelson, Paul Ross, Kyla Jentzsch, Darren Jentzsch, with May and Jesse Melycher in front.

Chad Kunzler, Elena McBride, Patrick Jolley, Tara Nelson, Paul Ross, Kyla Jentzsch, Darren Jentzsch, with May and Jesse Melycher in front.

Leave a Reply

