Mozarteum

Mozarteum Doors

I once took some private lessons with a man by the name of Terry McCombs (1945-2007).  He studied for a time at Universitat Mozarteum in Salzburg, Austria.  He showed me a number of photos and told me of his experiences there.  I felt and relived many of the experiences he had there.  While I was on my mission, he helped prepare an application for me and even had a friend of his come do an interview with me in Manchester, England.  In the end, the costs and personal inadequacies lead me to make decisions that took me in other directions away from music altogether.  At any rate, when I was in Salzburg, I made a point to stop and visit the Mozarteum.  I have thought about the Mozarteum some over the past few weeks and have those “what might have been” thoughts.  I don’t know they would have accepted me, and I certainly know it would have been a battle to learn German as well as music.  The thought still scares me.  But here are the doors which could have been an entirely other world.

Leave a Reply

