8th Street in Ogden, Utah

While in Ogden, Utah, last weekend, I was driving north on the old highway.  On a whim, I wondered if the home my Great Grandparents lived in on 8th Street was still there.  I pulled over and found my previous post to find the address and the photos of the home.

As I wrote then about David and Dena Donaldson, the home is located at 629 8th Street, Ogden, Weber, Utah.  I believe the address has stayed constant, but I am not sure.

A newspaper accident referenced a plumbing accident with David D Donaldson in the story, living at 629 8th Street, on 30 July 1926.

I found a published newspaper jury summons indicating David D Donaldson was still living in the house on 19 December 1935.

If I remember correctly, my grandparents were married in this home 4 April 1942.

Here are the photos I have of the home.

Nice long side shot of the home.

Donaldson 8th Street home with back addition

A close up of the front porch.

Dena, Gladys, Maxine, Dora holding Dave Donaldson (Dena and Dora are twins and may be switched)

Well, I found the house.  I was not sure it was even still there, but sure enough, I could recognize it from the old photos.

Not to be creepy, I knocked on the door.  I explained why I was bothering the lady who answered and even showed her the first photo above.  The lady said they had just purchased the home about a month ago.  They were in the military and moved in.  She gave me permission to take some photos of the home.

West side view of 629 8th Street

 

East side of 629 8th Street

 

Porch up close of 627 8th Street

Can you see the five children sitting on the porch?  The spigot is no longer there on the right side of the steps.  It was interesting to me walking up to the door as I imagined my grandmother, Gladys Maxine Donaldson Ross, sitting there in the very middle.  The railing is gone, the posts obviously updated, and a new deck.

Another shot of the front door

If walls could talk, what would they say?

I don’t think I realized the home had a basement.  Here is a YouTube video with some shots inside the house.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

