Grandpa’s Garden

As I grew up, I did not get to see my Grandpa and Grandma Ross more than a couple times a year.  When we went to visit in Utah, there was always a trip to the garden.  The garden had its own mythical place in our minds.  It scared me as a kid, I don’t know why.  It was like it could eat me it was that alive.  As time went on, I came to appreciate how much hard work and effort it took.  We reaped its bounteous blessings as well.  As I worked in the garden this morning, I thought to go through and see what photos I have of Grandpa and Grandma’s garden.  Here is what I could file.

Milo and Gladys Ross, 2004, the garden struggled this year because Grandpa was spending all his time taking care of Grandma, and Grandma kept sabotaging it by turning on the water all the time and regularly flooding parts of it out.

 

Gladys Donaldson Ross in ‘the garden’

 

Gladys Ross with some of the harvest

 

Planting

 

2009

 

2009 Jerrett and Matt Ross – back
Jeff and Milo Ross – front
Garden behind

 

Gladys with potatoes

 

Jeff and Milo in Garden, 2009

 

Milo Ross with another angle of his garden behind him, 2009

Jennie Bremer, Gladys Ross, 2004

Leave a Reply

